Science v. Religion = Hilarious

Hello loyal fans. As I was perusing the archive pages of Dinosaur Comics I came across what is, to this point, my favorite series of strips. I feel that the short series sums up the contemporary religion debate admirably. If you find yourself a bit put off at first, I encourage you to read through the entire four strip series.

Science v. Religion Part 1

Science v. Religion Part 2

Science v. Religion Part 3

Science v. Religion Part 4

While I certainly fall squarely on the science end of this debate, I recognize that there are certain questions which science simply cannot answer. Conversely, I feel that there are literally thousands of questions which religion, in general, cannot answer. When posed with these questions, I find the response from the religious community is generally; “you just need to have faith”. For me, that is inadequate; I am simply not willing to accept the unexplainable as divine. This is, in my opinion, a terribly short sighted viewpoint. For centuries, bacterial infections were unexplainable; during those times, they were assumed to be the work of Satan. Now, that notion would be ludicrous. It is impossible for me to believe, as some of these faith touting people would hope I would, that down the road the modern “mysteries of God” will remain unexplained.

Quote of the Day:

“A man’s ethical behavior should be based effectually on sympathy, education, and social ties; no religious basis is necessary. Man would indeed be in a poor way if he had to be restrained by fear of punishment and hope of reward after death.” – Albert Einstein

“I am as firmly convinced that religions do harm as I am that they are untrue.” – Bertrand Russell

Published in: on October 31, 2007 at 8:06 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://batchisthenewshit.wordpress.com/2007/10/31/science-v-religion-hilarious/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

